Board of Trustees2022-11-30T10:06:23+00:00

Board of Trustees

Boards of Trustees have been given the power, by the Education Act 1989, to manage the school.

The Board consists of: five parent representatives who are elected for a three year term by parents of pupils; the Principal of the School; and a staff representative, who is elected by fellow staff members.  The Board of Trustees meet every six weeks in the school staff room.  Public are welcome to attend these meetings.  A copy of the Ngunguru School Charter is available at the Office on request.

The Board of Trustees and school are well supported by an active Parent Teachers Group (Friends of Ngunguru School, FoNS) who provide personnel and resources for fundraising activities and curriculum support.  The school has a happy, stable and motivated staff.

Professional development is promoted and readily available.  Staff are fully involved in future planning as well as day-to-day management of curriculum areas.  We celebrate the unity of the school and the diversity of our community.

You can contact the board at [email protected]

Board Members Position
Dr Melissa Gilbert-Smith

Rick Sayer

Peter Tuhaka Staff Representative
Leila Amos

Hapu Representative
Chanelle Armstrong

Joel Higgie

Amber Fayerberg


Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes and Annual Reports
BoT Minutes
Annual Report 2019
Annual Report 2018